The 3 Most Valuable Weight Loss Lessons No One Shares but Everyone Should Hear

How to Lose Weight Without Losing Yourself

Robin A Henderson
5 min readJun 22, 2022
Photo of a woman holding a mirror.
Miriam Espacio | Pexels

Here I am, facing the mirror, unhappy with what I see.

Where did I get these extra rolls around my waist and those deeper dimples on my thighs?

My morning routine is rock solid. I get up, hit the gym, prepare a smoothie, and brew myself a calming cup of green tea.

It’s like clockwork, ingrained in my DNA.

However, the day often descends into crisis and chaos, a breeding ground for unhealthy food choices.

As a Wellness Coach, I know better.

I practice a plant-based lifestyle, enjoy mindfulness, and value self-care.

I’m the last person people expect to gain weight.

Yet, I find myself on the weight loss train yet again.

Nothing prepares us for how quickly things veer off course.

Nobody equips us for when cheat meals turn into days and even weeks or how a daily workout routine morphs into couch potato status in the blink of an eye.

Why can fear, insecurity, imposter syndrome, and the natural messiness of our lives hijack our good…

--

--

Robin A Henderson

I write about inclusive storytelling in Hollywood and diverse representation in wellness.