Black and Plant-Based: A Fearless Desire To Reclaim My Ancestral Food Story

A Journey Connecting How We Eat With Who We Are

Robin A Henderson
5 min readOct 25, 2021
Photo by August de Richelieu on Pexels

What are your earliest memories of food?

When I think of food, I’m transported back to a time when my life was overflowing with comfort and joy.

My fondest food memories are of preparing Sunday dinners with my mom and aunt. The succulent aroma of hot water cornbread floating above the pan. A fresh pot of collard greens, a staple in African-American cuisine, simmered on the stove. The aromas filling my grandparent’s house were sublime.

Our upbringing and cultural identity shape the food we eat.

Many factors determine the food we consume. The food our loved ones prepared when we were children. Our favorite family dishes we pass down through the generations.

Food is less about individual choices and more about ancestral traditions. It’s a communal experience we enjoy with others.

Food reflects who we are and honors those who came before us.

Photo by Matthew Barra on Pexels

How does African-American cuisine fit into

--

--

Robin A Henderson

I write about inclusive storytelling in Hollywood and diverse representation in wellness.